A really bad – and good – Posterous experience

Gonebabygone

I have been using Posterous for a couple of years now – got hooked from the very beginning by the really neat blogging by email feature that has been a Posterous trademark all along. The service has evolved nicely, including the general social media integration and now also the Pages feature that allows the users to create a more full blown site. I wasn’t late to get started with Pages and decided on the pretty much standard About, Contact and Archive options (plus some others). No fancy stuff at all but the Pages really turned my Posterous blog into something a lot more useful and serious, now also including a proper bio with quite a few embedded links.

 

The Pages Disaster 

Then, the disaster struck – some days ago, without any warning, all of my Posterous Pages were suddenly gone and all I got when I clicked the tabs on top was an error message stating the obvious: the pages were missing. My initial reaction: oops, this must be just a hiccup, no need to break out a sweat. Except that it wasn’t just a hiccup – shortly after a cry for help on Twitter a Posterous employee responded and, following a brief email correspondence, it became clear that my data was really, definitely, completely lost:

 

An extremely small group of our users may have lost their Pages during a recent server migration. Unfortunately, a search of our databases resulted in no matches for the missing Pages, so we cannot recover them on our end. However, most of the pages do have Google Caches, which you can use to recover your information.

 

So, taking into account that I badly needed my (complete) blog on short notice, my options were few: migrate the works to another platform or reconstruct the pages on Posterous the best I could. As you can see, I chose the second alternative and the data cached by Google definitely helped a lot. That’s what I’d call an interesting backup solution, by the way!

 

The Lessons Learned

 

I have been using cloud based services for many years, Google being the leader of the pack for me. However, I chose to use Posterous instead of Blogger due to the unique bells and whistles – and the look! – offered by Posterous. Both of these platforms are, of course, free services..
  • A free ride sure is nice but it might be a very bad choice for something that’s even close to mission critical. My Posterous blog has been kind of a hobby project but lately it’s been transforming into something different, without me even thinking twice about the security of my data. Any backup solutions by Posterous? I had no idea – and it turned out there apparently weren’t any, except the Google cache of course! But hey, what about Gmail going down or blocking me out? That sure would be extremely bad news so now I do backup my cloud; right now testing the very promising Backupify.
  • Even though Posterous messed up big time, they responded swiftly to my Tweet addressed to @posterous and gave me the facts and an apology, without any excuses. Kudos to them for that.
  • Twitter is often very useful in getting in touch with support and customer service functions. An ever increasing number of companies have official Twitter accounts and they also use Twitter for getting out the word for service outages.
Wrapping It Up

 

Amazing, actually – this is the very first time I’ve completely lost cloud stored data. What’s next then, bye-bye to Posterous? Nah, I don’t think so quite yet – it functions way too smoothly, for the most time! However, I’d guess I must find another solution for the really critical stuff and I’ll definitely back up the data that’s important to me. Too bad Backupify doesn’t include Posterous on their very extensive list of cloud services!

 

 

 

 

 

About niiloa

Language teacher, EdTech coach, GSuite superadmin, YouTuber, podcaster, advocate for international school collaboration
This entry was posted in EdTech, MyView, SocialMedia and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

