Yup, I’m back – sort of

Facebookniilo

When Facebook started gathering momentum a couple of years ago, I jumped right in. What a cool idea, keeping in touch with your friends and family who actually use their real names when creating their accounts! Plus the benefit of rediscovering all those long-lost relationships (in case you’d really want to). So, what happened next? Facebook added an enormous amount of digital noise to the social media scene – competitions, quizzes, you name it – noise that I felt I could definitely do without. Then the FB privacy issues got quite a bit of public attention and I decided it was time to take a break so I deactivated my account. What a relief!

After roughly half a year ‘in the dark’, I made the big move and activated my Facebook account. Have I completely changed my mind and, once again, become a great FB fan? Well, perhaps not quite, even though I think it’s a step in the right direction that I now can at least download (almost) all of my stuff from the FB servers. However, Facebook pretty much still owns me, and you! The main reason for me to activate my account was the fact that FB is a huge player in social media today and the only way of knowing what’s really going on is to be a part of it.

Will I be checking my Facebook account every five minutes and playing Farmville like crazy? Nope, I honestly don’t think so. Actually, in case you’d really want to get in touch, you just might want to check my Contact page here on Posterous instead of sending me a FB message!

About niiloa

Language teacher, EdTech coach, GSuite superadmin, EU eTwinning Ambassador, advocate for international school collaboration
This entry was posted in MyView, SocialMedia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

