Twitter makes lousy conversations

Twitter

 

Photo by Respre

I’ve been using Twitter since 2007 and, after a very heavy dose of initial skepticism, I now definitely find it a useful keeping-tabs-on-the-world tool. However, I’m still not sure if I’ve got my bearings 100% right about Twitter – especially when using the service for conversation. In fact, it just might be that Twitter was never meant to be a chat. Pretty often, I find these tiny conversation fragments bouncing back and forth and after a while I’m nor even sure if I’ve started some of them myself!

So, what kind of an animal is Twitter, anyway? A really strange creature, I’d say, but definitely a blog more than anything else. Basically, it’s all about getting a message through from one to many – with a feedback loop, like any blog. No threaded conversations here – go Buzz (if it’s still around) for that! – so it’s kinda impossible to keep track of the context of separate messages when many things are happening all at once. Sure, hashtags are useful but they sure don’t turn a bunch of tweets into a threaded dialogue.

Nah, I don’t much like Twitter conversations. I like Twitter because, providing you find the right people to follow, you really get some very good information and assistance – in real time. And talking about things happening in real time: yes, I must admit I’m a bit of a Jack Bauer fan. What’s his Twitter handle, anyone?

About niiloa

Language teacher, EdTech coach, GSuite superadmin, EU eTwinning Ambassador, advocate for international school collaboration
This entry was posted in MyView, SocialMedia, Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

